stopMost of us have tried a lot of different ways to control our drinking or drugging by the time we get to the point of quitting altogether. When we finally make the decision to stop for good, there are also many different ways we can do that. I’ve tried many ways of quitting myself.

I’m a chronic alcoholic who has had consistent relapses. It seemed that I could stop drinking, usually for a few months at a time, but I couldn’t stay stopped. Maybe it was because I always wanted to find the easiest way with the least amount of effort possible.

Here are some of the things I’ve tried:

– Willpower
– Starting up old hobbies, including painting and drawing
– Acupuncture
– Reiki healing
– Hypnotherapy
– Herbal cleansing
– 30 day in-patient treatment program
– Relapse prevention program
– Antabuse
– Voluntarily check-in to a detox clinic
– Involuntarily check-in to a detox clinic
– Three months in a Salvation Army adult rehabilitation program
– Attempted suicide
– Psychiatric ward
As you can see from the list, there was a pretty drastic change over the years as far as the lengths that I would go to in order to quit. As I went from using willpower to attempting suicide, it was obvious
that my disease, left untreated, was getting progressively worse. I realized that I was on very shaky ground because every time I got drunk I wanted to kill myself. I didn’t want to die when I was
sober; it was only when I was under the influence. That’s when I had the failed suicide attempt. As low as that moment was, at least it made me aware of the true scope of my problem—I knew that if
I didn’t stop drinking for good, it would only be a matter of time before I succeeded in ending my life.
I was out of options, and out of money, so I decided to try the one thing that I’d been avoiding for so long—a Twelve-Step program. Sure, I’d been to a few recovery meetings in the past, but I never
actually listened to what those crazy people said, and I certainly never did anything they suggested. But sometimes sitting at the bottom can finally make you willing to try anything….

Leave a Reply

