koolI had avoided Alcoholics Anonymous (AA) for years because I had too many preconceived ideas to go there. For one, those people were like some weird cult and completely batshit crazy. And two, there may be no vodka in the Kool-Aid but they had to be on something. As far as I was concerned, no one could be that brainwashed and overly nice without the aid of a substance. All this coupled with the touchy feely crap, holding hands and hugging someone I didn’t know just gave me the heebie jeebies and I wanted no part of it.

It’s funny how desperation can change a person’s mind because eventually I did end up going to AA. I had literally tried everything else I could possibly try to stay sober and nothing had worked, AA was definitely the last stop on the block and I will just say that this ‘contempt prior to investigation’ may have caused me a few more years of needless misery. But I was at a place in my life where I was willing to try anything, in fact at that point, if someone had handed me a cup of Kool-Aid I would have gladly drank it. If you would like to investigate Twelve Step Programs further and draw your own conclusions, click here for more information.

However, if you find yourself in a place where you are trying to get clean and sober and are looking for alternatives to the Twelve Step route, here are a few options that you might want to check out.  Whatever you decide, good luck!

Leave a Reply

