I started drinking at age 13 and somehow managed to survive my teens and twenties, finally getting sober in my thirties. Every day, I’m reminded of how lucky I am, usually by a story in a newspaper or a newcomer in a recovery meeting.

No one is immune when it comes to drugs and alcohol,  whether it’s kids whose lives end before they even get a chance to start or teenagers who think binge drinking is ‘normal’. Not to mention the families who are burying their teenagers when they should be sending them off to college or the babies being left alone to fend for themselves while their parents are out drugging.

These are just a few of the stories that I have come across recently in one newspaper. There are thousands of newspapers in the world today and you can be sure that each one of them will run a similar story to the ones mentioned here.

In this story, the parents of the boy who was throwing aTeenage drinking death party – where a 16 year old teenage  girl drank herself to death – denied supplying alcohol to their son and his friends. Apparently the parents were hosting their own party at the same time, in the same house.

Read the full story here

teen bingeIn another story published the day after the one above, 2000 students take part in an ‘organized’ mass pub crawl.

Click here to read more

Taken just 3 years before her heroin overdose

Photo was taken just 3 years before her heroin overdose

A 16 year old schoolgirl dies from heroin overdose, despite her mother’s attempts to get help for her daughter, click here

drunk briton falls from balcony

21 year old falls to his death from a  5th floor balcony after an all day  drinking binge Full Story

single mother binge drinking

A 22 year old single mother leaves her four young children including two babies home alone while she went on a 24-hour drink and drugs binge. Click here

drunk driving car crashA retired policeman drives home drunk and crashes the car,  resulting in the deaths of four people, including his wife, two 10 year old girls (his stepdaughter and her friend) and another family friend who was also in the car. Read the full story

A 14 year old schoolgirl dies after taking a dangerous new drug known as ‘meow meow’. The drug is a mixture of ketamine and plant fertilizer Mephedrone,  and is said to have effects similar to cocaine and ecstasy. Read more

Two 21 year old British students killed by a drunk driver while working at a summer camp in the U.S. Full story

Teen Vodka epidemic – IN the U.K. more than 100 girls a week ended up in hospital last year after binge-drinking, with 4,939 girls aged between 14 to 17 being seen by doctors for alcohol poisoning over the past five years (compared to 1,776 boys) – an increase of 90 per cent since 2003. Read the full story
Here is one woman’s experience concerning the loss of her brother:

I don’t have a link to supply you with, but my 30-year-old brother passed out and fell from his 9th story balcony in June of 2006. He had struggled with alcoholism since he was a teenager and, that night, he was having a party to celebrate a promotion that he’d gotten at a new job. He leaned over his balcony, using the railing to push against his stomach, to throw up. Instead of throwing up, he passed out. He died instantly.

I stumbled across this blog via Google. Certainly, convincing people of the dangers of alcohol is an uphill battle. I know this, firsthand. People would rather believe that this kind of thing happens to everyone else. Just like anything, I suppose.

Since my brother’s death, I’ve been looking for ways to reach out to help people like him. He wanted to get sober. He knew it was time. He just never quite made it to his goal. If I could help just one family avoid the wrenching, soul-twisting pain that my family and I have had to endure in the wake of his loss, it would be worth it to me.

I just want to say that when I lost my brother, I was pregnant with my first child. That paradox is indescribable and torturous. I have Post Traumatic Stress Disorder. I have amnesia surrounding our childhood memories as a result of PTSD. I have flashbacks because of PTSD – vivid ones. And nightmares. I don’t post this for pity or attention, but to point out that choices made because of alcohol addiction profoundly affect everyone around the alcoholic. This is my story. There are thousands more like it.

My brother was a good person. He wasn’t some thoughtless party drone who didn’t care what happened to the people that he loved. He loved me and I, him. He did not want this for me. I know that. But, it can never be taken back. And it happened in an instant. And it was completely preventable.

Alcohol kills.

I’m glad for you that you’ve spared yourself and your family.

There are many more stories that never get told, if you come across one, please post the link in a comment.

Comments
  1. Will Fowler says:

    That is a very sad and sobering post. -will

  2. Me says:

    I don’t have a link to supply you with, but my 30-year-old brother passed out and fell from his 9th story balcony in June of 2006. He had struggled with alcoholism since he was a teenager and, that night, he was having a party to celebrate a promotion that he’d gotten at a new job. He leaned over his balcony, using the railing to push against his stomach, to throw up. Instead of throwing up, he passed out. He died instantly.

    I stumbled across this blog via Google and I just want to say that I think that what you’re doing is a great service to humanity. Certainly, convincing people of the dangers of alcohol is an uphill battle. I know this, firsthand. People would rather believe that this kind of thing happens to everyone else. Just like anything, I suppose.

    Since my brother’s death, I’ve been looking for ways to reach out to help people like him. He wanted to get sober. He knew it was time. He just never quite made it to his goal. If I could help just one family avoid the wrenching, soul-twisting pain that my family and I have had to endure in the wake of his loss, it would be worth it to me.

    I just want to say that when I lost my brother, I was pregnant with my first child. That paradox is indescribable and torturous. I have Post Traumatic Stress Disorder. I have amnesia surrounding our childhood memories as a result of PTSD. I have flashbacks because of PTSD – vivid ones. And nightmares. I don’t post this for pity or attention, but to point out that choices made because of alcohol addiction profoundly affect everyone around the alcoholic. This is my story. There are thousands more like it.

    My brother was a good person. He wasn’t some thoughtless party drone who didn’t care what happened to the people that he loved. He loved me and I, him. He did not want this for me. I know that. But, it can never be taken back. And it happened in an instant. And it was completely preventable.

    Alcohol kills.

    I’m glad for you that you’ve spared yourself and your family.

    • Georgia W. says:

      I am truly sorry for the loss of your brother. Thank you so much for sharing your story.

      • Adam says:

        I too am very sorry for your loss. I also would like to say it takes a lot of courage to post stories of this kind, so many people are cynical these days. I really appreciate your sharing.

  3. Em says:

    I am so grateful that people are sharing this information and I can only pray that the still sick and suffering will find the program of AA and the strength to trudge the road of happy destiny. I started drinking at 12 and by 16 was blacking out. Finally at 27 I was given the gift of desperation and found my way into the rooms and by the grace of God I have 309 days continuous sobriety. Each day is better than the last thanks to the 12 steps.

  4. Mineh says:

    This is very sad and it was kind of you to share this with us. Many people are hurt and would not have courage to come out as you did.

    Thanks for sharing this with us and sorry for the loss.

  5. krissy says:

    my friend ashley knetzger was finishing up her shift at texas roadhouse along with her friend talhia heroux. on the night of June 3rd, 2008 they clocked out of work and got in the car to go home and a women by the name anretta geske was drag racing and drunk driving and just so happened to hit ashley and talhia in there car. ashley adn talhia had no chance. they just so happened to be at the wrong place at the wrong time. because of anrietta now both girls are dead. anrietta laughed in court she thought the graphic pics were funny. i will never forgive her. i hate her but justice is being served because she will rot in prison. her sentence was 182 years without any possibilty of parol. Drunk driving is not ok. SO PLEASE DONT DO IT. dont let ur friends do it or ur family etc. i hope this may change some ppl. btw ashley and talhia were only 18 ashley had just graduated 3 days earlier getting ready to go to nwtc to become a nurse.

    • Georgia W. says:

      Hi Krissy,
      Thank you for taking the time to post this story, I am really sorry to hear about your friends, what a tragic waste of two young lives. Keep doing what you are doing and tell their story, people need to hear it.
      -G

  6. Gia says:

    holy.. these are depressing.

Leave a Reply

